Top

Ce qu’il en reste (What Remains)

 

CE QU’IL EN RESTE

What Remains

This imposing yet highly entertaining dance opus forms the second part of the creative cycle entitled Itinéraire multiple in which the choreographer explores the worlds of women artists from other cultures. Following upon Elles, which was inspired by Tina Modotti and Mexico in the 1920s, Ce qu’il en reste is based on the life of Hannah Höch, an artist renowned for her photomontages and recognized as one of the first German Dadaists.

With the collaboration of multidisciplinary artist Jonathan Inksetter, videographer David Fafard and lighting designer Bruno Rafie, Louise Bédard created a set formed by immense screen displays that literally split up the space and capture light; on these, various moving figures are projected by video. The bodies of the dancers, alternately united and fragmented, like successive layers of characters who have been cut up and reassembled, alternately move through, reveal, and were acted upon by this composite universe — a veritable human collage that moves back and forth between solitude and synthesis, love and laughter, and the relationship with the other and the self.

Music by Michel F. Côté and Diane Labrosse, which they performed on stage, accompanied the dancers. Denis Lavoie’s costumes and Angelo Barsetti’s makeup and photography were also central to the work.

While Ce qu’il en reste was being developed, Louise Bédard Danse worked in association with the German Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (IFA) and the Goethe Institute in Montréal to bring an exhibition of 31 works by Hannah Höch from Germany to the Maison de la Culture Côte-des-Neiges. From October 13 to November 20, 2005 this exhibition also showcased works — assembled by curator Lucie Bureau — by some of our own artists who each have their own way of exploring photomontage and collage using a variety of media. Some of Louise Bédard’s own collages on paper were also displayed at the Maison de la Culture and in the foyer of Usine C. More information about the exhibit

Ce qu’il en reste, a production by Louise Bédard Danse, was created during residences at Usine C (Montréal), the Fondation Jean-Pierre-Perreault (Montréal) and the PACT Zollverein Choreographic Centre (Essen, Germany). Le Groupe Dance Lab (Ottawa) and the Goethe Institute in Montréal also contributed to the work.

This production premiered on October 25, 2005, at Usine C, in Montreal.


  REVIEWS

A remarkable show (…) there are six dancers who are absolutely fantastic (…) two musicians on stage, Michael F. Côté and Diane Labrosse who are absolutely stunning (…) in perfect osmosis with the dancers (…) It is a pleasure! “

Isabelle Poulin - CBC

A large collage in front of the Eternity that human life is (…) one hour of pure pleasure (…) “

Aline Apostolska – La Presse

(…) Undeniable qualities: an unbridled imagination, the great generosity of the dancers (…) “

Frédérique Doyon — Le Devoir

  VIDEOS

  POSTER

Ce qu'il en reste - Affiche 2005 - Louise Bédard Danse

  CREDITS

Artistic Direction and Choreography

Louise Bédard

Artistic Advisor and Rehearsal Director

Christine Charles

Scenography

Jonathan Inksetter

Lighting design

Bruno Rafie

Video

David Fafard

Music

Michel F. Côté
Diane Labrosse

Costumes

Denis Lavoie

Makeup

Angelo Barsetti

Original Dancers

KATE ALTON
Jean-François Déziel
Lea Helmstädter
Anne Le Beau
Michael Trent
Daniel Villeneuve

Apprentices

Catherine Castonguay
Pierre-Marc Ouelette

Other Dancers (reprise)

Catherine Castonguay
AnneBruce Falconer
Ken Roy
Sonya Stefan

Photo 1 > Jean-François Déziel, Anne Le Beau, Ken Roy (Halifax, 2008) / credit: George Krump

Photo 2 > Daniel Villeneuve, AnneBruce Falconer, Jean-François Déziel, Sonya Stefan (Halifax, 2008) / credit: George Krump

Photo 3 > Daniel Villeneuve, AnneBruce Falconer, Sonya Stefan, Ken Roy, Jean-François Déziel (Halifax, 2008) / credit: George Krump

Photo 4 > Sonya Stefan, Daniel Villeneuve, Ken Roy, Anne Le Beau (Halifax, 2008) / credit: George Krump

Photo 5 > Sonya Stefan, Daniel Villeneuve et Jean-François Déziel, AnneBruce Falconer (Halifax, 2008) / credit: George Krump

Photo 6 > Daniel Villeneuve, Ken Roy, Jean-François Déziel (Halifax, 2008) / credit: George Krump

Poster > Anne Le Beau, Daniel Villeneuve, Louise Bédard / photomontage: Angelo Barsetti and Louise Bédard / graphic design: Folio et Garetti

Top

Ce qu’il en reste

 

CE QU’IL EN RESTE

Cette œuvre imposante et ludique pour six danseurs est le second volet du cycle de création intitulé Itinéraire multiple dans lequel la chorégraphe explore l’univers de femmes artistes issues d’autres cultures. Faisant suite à Tina Modotti et au Mexique des années 1920 qui avait donné naissance au duo Elles, Ce qu’il en reste s’inspire de la surprenante Hannah Höch, une artiste réputée pour ses photomontages et l’une des toutes premières femmes dadaïstes allemandes.

Avec la complicité de l’artiste multidisciplinaire Jonathan Inksetter, du vidéaste David Fafard et de l’éclairagiste Bruno Rafie, Louise Bédard a mis en place un dispositif scénique formé d’immenses pages-écrans qui découpent littéralement l’espace, captent la lumière et où sont projetés des corps animés en vidéo. Les corps des danseurs tantôt entiers, tantôt fragmentés, comme des couches successives de personnages déstructurés puis réassemblés, parcourent, subissent ou révèlent un univers composite, un véritable collage humain qui oscille entre le solitaire et le solidaire, l’humour et l’amour, le rapport à l’autre et le quant-à-soi.

Sur scène et en direct, la musique de Michel F. Côté et de Diane Labrosse a accompagné le travail des danseurs. Louise Bédard s’est également entourée de Denis Lavoie aux costumes et d’Angelo Barsetti aux maquillages et à la photo.

En parallèle à l’élaboration de Ce qu’il en reste, Louise Bédard Danse s’est associé à l’organisme allemand Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (IFA) et à l’Institut Goethe Montréal pour faire venir d’Allemagne une exposition exclusive de 31 œuvres d’Hannah Höch à la maison de la culture Côte-des-Neiges. Du 8 octobre au 13 novembre 2005, cette exposition présentait également des oeuvres d’artistes d’ici — réunis par la commissaire Lucie Bureau — qui explorent à leur façon la notion de collage et de photomontage à travers différents médiums. La chorégraphe Louise Bédard présentait aussi quelques-unes de ses propres oeuvres-collages sur papier à la Maison de la Culture ainsi que dans le hall de l’Usine C. Plus d’informations sur l’exposition

Ce qu’il en reste, une production de Louise Bédard Danse, a été créée dans le cadre de résidences à l’Usine C (Montréal), à la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault (Montréal), au Centre chorégraphique PACT-Zollverein (Essen, Allemagne) et grâce à la contribution du Groupe Lab (Ottawa) et de l’Institut Goethe Montréal.

La première a eu lieu le 25 octobre 2005, à l’Usine C, à Montréal.


  CRITIQUES

Un spectacle remarquable (…) les danseurs qui sont six sont absolument formidables (…) deux musiciens sur scène, Michel F. Côté et Diane Labrosse sont absolument époustouflants (…) en osmose parfaite avec les danseurs (…) C’est du bonheur!»

Isabelle Poulin — Radio-Canada

Du grand collage devant l’Éternel qu’est la vie humaine (…) une heure de pur plaisir (…) »

Aline Apostolska — La Presse

(…) des qualités indéniables : un imaginaire débridé, la grande générosité des danseurs (…) »

Frédérique Doyon — Le Devoir

  VIDEOS


  AFFICHE

Ce qu'il en reste - Affiche 2005 - Louise Bédard Danse

  CRÉDITS

Direction artistique et chorégraphie

Louise Bédard

Conseillère Artistique et répétitrice

Christine Charles

Scénographie

Jonathan Inksetter

Lumières

Bruno Rafie

Vidéo

David Fafard

Musique

Michel F. Côté
Diane Labrosse

Costumes

Denis Lavoie

Maquillages

Angelo Barsetti

Danseurs à la création

KATE ALTON
Jean-François Déziel
Lea Helmstädter
Anne Le Beau
Michael Trent
Daniel Villeneuve

Apprentis

Catherine Castonguay
Pierre-Marc Ouelette

Autres danseurs (reprises)

Catherine Castonguay
AnneBruce Falconer
Ken Roy
Sonya Stefan

Photo 1 > Jean-François Déziel, Anne Le Beau, Ken Roy (Halifax, 2008) / crédit: George Krump
Photo 2 > Daniel Villeneuve, AnneBruce Falconer, Jean-François Déziel, Sonya Stefan (Halifax, 2008) / crédit: George Krump
Photo 3 > Daniel Villeneuve, AnneBruce Falconer, Sonya Stefan, Ken Roy, Jean-François Déziel (Halifax, 2008) / crédit: George Krump
Photo 4 > Sonya Stefan, Daniel Villeneuve, Ken Roy, Anne Le Beau (Halifax, 2008) / crédit: George Krump
Photo 5 > Sonya Stefan, Daniel Villeneuve et Jean-François Déziel, AnneBruce Falconer (Halifax, 2008) / crédit: George Krump
Photo 6 > Daniel Villeneuve, Ken Roy, Jean-François Déziel (Halifax, 2008) / crédit: George Krump
Affiche > Anne Le Beau, Daniel Villeneuve, Louise Bédard / photos et montage: Angelo Barsetti et Louise Bédard / graphisme: Folio et Garetti